But I do spel gud…

Next to the entire Lego Coast Guard set that hubby got for his b-day…

lego

next to the junk magazines that seem to breed in the mailbox this time of year…

sits a new addition to our kitchen table clutter, a dictionary.

dict2

Hubby & I areย  members of our local ELKS lodge. He is actually the State Veteran’s Chairman (there is a longer title but that’ll have to do. ๐Ÿ˜‰ ) He recently stumbled upon a program within the ELKS that sponsors giving dictionaries to 3rd graders. In some towns, other fraternal organizations sponsor this as well. Where our lodge is, for instance (our lodge is 40 minutes away), the Lion’s Club was doing this but in the towns surrounding us, it was still fair game.

He got the okay for the cases of dictionaries to be purchased through the gambling fund and handed them out to two different school districts to over 100 very happy children. There was one extra – hence the copy on my table. We are currently waiting on 100 more for the town I work in, which technically also falls under our lodge’s territory.

The dictionary is very unique. Besides the thousands of words, (it’s scaled down for 3rd grade) it has things like metric conversion, the table of elements, multiplication table, Roman numerals, sign language, braille, the planets, and so on. Now here’s where it seems like its personalized with the ELKS in mind. It tells you about the flag,ย  gives a civics lesson, has the Declaration of Independence, talks about the presidents, each state, and so much more. The last page hosts the world’s longest word in the english language, which I don’t wish to post here. At 1,909 letters – it would take me forever. ๐Ÿ˜‰

I cannot begin to carry on about all the good the ELKS do for communities and don’t want to turn this post into a “join the ELKS” rant. I guess I’m just hoping to inspire everyone to take that extra step & see what they can do in their communities. These children were very grateful. It only took 1 afternoon & a visit to the school – that’s it. The books themselves were about $1.75 a piece but the children’s reactions to receiving their very own book was priceless.ย  Our community is not a rich one and for some, this was the first book they could call their own.

This is the website in case you want to see if anything is being done in your area. http://www.dictionaryproject.org/

Now, that being said, you know I was not going to let this pass & not pick on my family, right? We had the one extra copy and my husband tried to give it to my daughter.

“I don’t need another dictionary.”

“Yes, you do. You’re spelling is horrible,” I say.

“I spell perfectly fine. The rest of the world just has different opinions on them.”

GAH!!ย  Her spelling tests are great when she studies for them – it’s just the everyday words that are terrible. In all honestly, without spell check – I’d be a gonner too. srsly ๐Ÿ˜‰

On another note, hubby also discovered a Thesaurus program for 4th graders so I imagine that will follow soon. I’m gonna need a bigger table. ๐Ÿ˜€

3 thoughts on “But I do spel gud…

  1. What a great program. My dad recently joined the Lions Club and has really enjoyed giving back to the community.

    I don’t know what I’d do without Dictionary.com and Thesaurus.com. I’m there every day. ๐Ÿ™‚

  2. For me it’s dictionary.com & wiki. I do right click in MS word for thesaurus though :}

    How did writers write before computers & internet!

Leave a Reply

