Is that a Gnome in your home?

Nope, it’s 2 actually. Meet Marcus & Michael & the door Hubby built. I handed him a picture from a magazine & viola! Ain’t it cute! I know they are supposed to be in your garden, but I like them where they are in my living room…’cause I’m just weird that way ๐Ÿ˜€

gnomes

Yup, more reoccurring characters in my Before Happily Ever After series. The idea for their creation started at an Elks get together. I have a professor friend that has an awesome deep announcer type voice. Each word said slowly & with perfect enunciation. Over a bonfire & a few drinks I said to him, “I need to make a character around that voice. I think you’ll be a gnome.” So I did…actually I made 2 because gnomes are twins, duh. Oh, the things you learn when researching characters. That was the fun part about doing that series, besides picking on my daughter & her best friend. Of course like everything else, these and other characters spilled into our daily lives. I posted on facebook one morning about hubby & I having coffee and how the “Brownies” were signalingย  from the yard. (Brownies are in another book)

“What are they saying to you?” he asks.

“Oh, they don’t know I can see them.” (Yes, the men in white coats are on speed dial, thank you for asking.)

I tried to get my daughter to play along when she got up.

“Shhh and come here,” I said. “The Brownies are signaling outside.”

“Sun reflecting on the dew on the grass?”

“Party pooper.” ๐Ÿ˜ฆ

I acquired these 2 little guys while I was in St Louis. Stewie, Monkey & I were grocery shopping for our now infamous “meal”. It was a group effort and in a word, amazing. I am convinced for as long as I live, there will be no equal. It was followed the next morning by the most amazing omelet ever. hail to the Monkey for his Salmon creation! So anyway, while we shopped for the ingredients, we came across these 2 when we wandered down a random aisle. I’m pretty sure the whole supermarket heard my, “No Way!” Of course I had come across some before, but never their equal. At $9.99 each they stole my heart. Michael’s hat didn’t quite survive the airlines but that’s okay. Chicks dig scars.

10 thoughts on “Is that a Gnome in your home?

  1. I had Gnomes in my backyard along with miniature cypress plants that looked like mini trees. The effect was lost when my own munchkins (then toddlers) dropped them on the concrete and they broke into a jillion pieces.

    Recently, my eldest (5) has asked for a child’s garden. Time for me to whip out the whimsy!! ๐Ÿ˜€

    I love the door!!

  2. I stole it from Keanu Reeves in Replacements, Kirsten ๐Ÿ™‚ and yeah… my daughter seems to be the grown up in our house :/

  3. I saw brownies in my backyard too. Only, I think they were left there by my dog. Prolly a byproduct of eating the gnomes she cought playing on the kid’s trampoline. Silly gnomes. Everybody knows gnomes just don’t bounce well.

Leave a Reply

