Not afraid to die…

…only afraid to die before my latest WIP (work in progress) in completed. How shallow am I?

Without going into too many details, I was up at 4 a.m. on Tues and wasn’t sure what was going on. As I tossed and turned in pain & tried not to cry, what was the thing that came to mind before I even woke hubby up? “I can’t die now! I just rearranged my last 2 chapters and no one will now how I want it to end!” I almost booted up my laptop to make notes before I woke him up.

“Hello. My name is Bug & I’m a write-aholic.”

I was far to stubborn to let hubby take me to the ER if it was just heartburn. I ate nothing funky that day – there was no reason for it. I really didn’t think I was stressing myself out enough sleeping to cause a heart attack either. I was dreaming and although I can’t remember all the details, I do remember my chest starting to hurt in it & eventually woke up from it.

I never had heartburn before so I had nothing to compare it to and apparently hubby either because there was nothing in the house to help. I sipped water, milk, & alka seltzer trying to soothe whatever it was. There were no crackers either and bread didn’t do anything for me. Hubby loves to take out his medical flow chart book – we ruled out pregnancy pretty quick seeing as how I’m going on around 8 years “spayed”. πŸ˜‰

I toughed it out & just left for work early so I could run to our Wal Mart before I had to open. (shut up – it’s all my town has) I work alone – there’s no one to call to say I won’t be coming in. If it were bad, I could have called my boss but I wasn’t bad enough to lay at home & I really wanted to get something for heartburn & see if it helped.

I promptly ate my body weight in Tums then read the back. “Don’t take more than 10 in a 24 hr period.” Whoops. I still nibbled on a few as the day went on & felt somewhat better. At 3:30 I gave in & closed shop & went to the doctor. I promised long story short, didn’t I? I finally figured it out while talking to the Dr. Me + Naproxin = bad. I always have back issues, mostly due to the fact that I spend 8 hrs a day on my keester writing at work. I try to get up at least every hour and have even spent some of the day standing while doing this (as directed by my chiropractor) but my back has just been acting up & I took 1 a night for the past 3. Apparently it doesn’t like me. Get in line.

So…heartburn meds, liquids & chewables….. no coffee… no booze. Shoot me now. Really, go ahead because yesterday, through the pain, Iworked liked crazy & got some writing done & won’t say WIP anymore – it’s now my latest Novel. Just don’t ask me for its name, I haven’t done that yet. :/

Say hello to my little friend. Looks just like him but smoothie flavored πŸ˜€
tums

7 thoughts on “Not afraid to die…

  1. That is too farkin hilarious! Glad you figured out what was wrong. This worry wart is close friends with Tums too. Been needing it since the 4th grade. πŸ™‚ Hope your tummy and back feel better soon!!!

  2. i’m sure you are aware of the over the counter meds such as prilosec, zantac, etc.

    discuss with doc, eh? they are far superior to tums, kid.

  3. yes, love. Dr put me on prilosec – heartburn meds was easier to type πŸ™‚ Tums is kinda the fill-in & will be forever handy.

  4. This made me LMAO because I literally have said, “I just don’t want to die before my book is done.”

    You also made me LOL at “shut up – it’s all my town has.”

    I’m glad you’re feeling better. And I’m VERY glad you didn’t die before finishing that book. πŸ™‚

  5. Did the doctor give you alternative for your back? Regular ibuprofen instead of naproxin maybe? Just wondering… love your blog.. you go girl.. oooh thought..
    is it sciatic nerve pain like your mom’s?
    bye for now,
    Bev

  6. Tums don’t do a thing for me, but I don’t think my issues are ever heartburn. It’s more the air bubble variety. πŸ˜›

    Did I just say that?

    Yay for another novel!

  7. Turkey – I feel for you if you’ve been doing since since 4th grade. Gah!
    Kirsten -I guess I’ve seen 1 too many wal-mart rants πŸ™‚
    Hey Bev! Ibuprofen does it too – that what made me finally realize what it was.:(
    Hooey – burp twice & call me in the mornin’ πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

