Nounverbative?

GAH!

My daughter walked downstairs Thursday night asking for help with her English homework. No problem, right? I got A’s in English – I’m a writer. Words are my thing! Bring it on! (I got A’s in math too but I have long since been able to help her with that so I was happy to be able to offer some input for a change.) I looked it over and gave her the quick re-cap on nouns, adjectives & adverbs. She was at band while this was covered so we went over it together & I made sure she understood. Easy peasy. I wanted her to at least attempt it on her own first & she went back up stairs. A half hour later I asked how she was doing.

“Fine.”

“It done?”

“No.”

“Need help.”

“Whatever.”

I know the frustrated tone so I had her come downstairs again & I took a better look at it. OMG! We were up past 10. We did walk through them & I made her figure it out…but lets see how you do. No need to thank me.

1. adapt                           11. complement

2. adopt                           12. compliment

3. personnel                    13. affect

4. personal                      14. effect

5. stationary                    15. device

6. stationery                    16. devise

7. advise                          17. conscience

8. advice                          18. conscious

9. formally                        19. disinterested

10. formerly                      20. unintrested

write the 3 words that are both nouns and verbs.

write 5 that are nouns

write 5 that are verbs

write 5 that are adjectives

write 2 that are adverbs

You may only use each word once.

Hubs stepped in at one point but I kindly shooed him away & told him to go play with Camelot on facebook after the 1st. “Bzzzzzzz. You’re wrong. Thank you for playing.”

yeah… it sucked! I have never had any qualms about saying sometimes I feel like an idiot. There is nothing like helping a child with their homework to keep you in your place and sharpen your skills. It’s time to move over all the 80’s lyrics for something really useful. Maybe I’ll have to pay more attention with her math homework too. 😳

The kicker? She came home today. “I didn’t need to do that page. I missed when the teacher explained that too!”

I think I’ll ground her ’till she 36. Whatdaya say? 😉

9 thoughts on “Nounverbative?

  1. write the 3 words that are both nouns and verbs: affect, effect, compliment

    write 5 that are nouns: conscience advice: personnel, stationary, complement

    write 5 that are verbs: devise, advise, adopt, adapt, device

    write 5 that are adjectives: stationery, personal, conscious, disinterested, unintrested

    write 2 that are adverbs: formerly, formally

    How’d I do?

  2. write the 3 words that are both nouns and verbs: 12, 13, 14

    write 5 that are nouns: 3, 6, 8, 15, 17

    write 5 that are verbs: 1, 2, 7, 11, 16

    write 5 that are adjectives: 4, 5, 18, 19, 20

    write 2 that are adverbs: 9, 10

    Easy peasy. 😛

  3. ***mom don’t read**

    Thanks, Joey. Now my typing is also inadequate. I feel much better now :/

    Ang – blame Battery. He usually tells me these things. He musta really felt bad for me.

    Turkey – Up you’re’s. Srsly, f#cktard.
    *rimshot*

    Thank you – I’ll be here all night. 😀

Leave a Reply

