"Gee, Mom. I ride the bus."

Yup. Education at it’s finest.

~*~*~*~*~

We ripped though Season 4 of Heroes on the Roku over the past week & 1/2. We were down to 3 last night. It was 9:15 and there was only 1 episode left. We were all silent. Usually my daughter screams, “Nooooooooooooooo!!!!!!!!!!!” when that dreaded “To be continued….” pops up on the screen. Not last night. You could hear our collective wheels spinning. Do we watch the last one? But then it’s over…. for a while anyway until the next season comes out. Should we just get it over with or make it last for another day??? My daughter was the 1st one to crack.

“Just play it already. Nudge nudge, wink wink,” she says.
I burst out laughing. “Where did you learn that?” (I use it but I didn’t think I ever said it in front of her.)
“The bus. A couple of the kids are fans of that show.”
“There are kids that watch Monty Python?”
“Yeah, that one.”

Although I have not yet subjected her to the few Python movies in our stash, I guess I can rest assured she is getting a proper education on government money. *whew* This bus thing has come up before and is no surprise, really. The system never fails me. You get a PG-13 movie and they have to drop the F-bomb at least once for that rating. I cringe at her hearing it but without me saying anything she’ll say, “Mom, I ride the bus. It’s okay.”

I guess it’s a right of passage. I have just recently been exposing her to the movies I watched at that age – Breakfast Club, Pretty in Pink, even St Elmo’s Fire (Yes, I just quoted Bowling for Soup’s 1985 there – but it’s true. šŸ˜‰ ) We’ve started watching a few of the old SNL star movies lately too. (Bill Murray, Steve Martin, Chevy Chase…) After watching The Jerk, I guess some of the Will Farrell movies don’t seem all that different and much more “stoopit”. I remember my brother taking me to see Meatballs with Bill Murray around that age & there were things that went over my head. When I watched it years later, I laughed. “That’s what that meant!” (I just tried attaching a youtube link here but it crashed my computer & restarted twice – scaring the bejeezus outta me so you’ll have to dig deep into your memories for the references.)
“Is that a bra you’re wearing, or are you expecting an assassination attempt?”
“Is that a roll of lifesavers in your pocket, or are you just happy to see me?”
etc, etc.
Yes, they are commonplace now and the items for “happy to see me” have many substitutions but at 13 – at least back when I was 13, there was this thing called naive & believe it or not, I fell under that category.

So back to Heroes… yes, we watched it & the dreaded Nooooooooooo was hollered right on queue.

“Why did you let me watch it! Now I have to wait forever to find out what happens!”

I did what any good parent would do.”I learned today on facebook that they canceled the series after the next season.”
“Nooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooooo. Why would you tell me that!”
“Because I’m a good mom. Nudge nudge, wink wink.”

Just for shiggles & gits…I give you nudge nudge, wink wink.

8 thoughts on “"Gee, Mom. I ride the bus."

  1. Thanks, June. That was a good read, but I’m just as confused as before. I still have no idea what a Ruku is except that you need Netflix? Then what?

    I just instantly watch my Netflix movies and TV shows on my laptop.

  2. My sister taught me all the “bus stuff” when I was really young. I think that was part of her rebellion against her parents’ divorce and our parents getting married. šŸ˜€

  3. My kids love Monty Python, even if my youngest doesn’t understand all of it.
    I also introduced my kids to “my” movies of youth, at about that age. They still LOVE “Breakfast Club”, and all of them own it now. I think they all own a good collection of Mel Brooks movies, also.

Leave a Reply

