Novel #12

Um… yeah… so it’s been forever since I blogged. Life got in the way a little bit… flooded basement…flooded road… hour drives to work instead of 15 min, but mostly I had to get some “writerly” things out of the way. That sounds funny since blogging is being “writerly” (so is making up your own words). However, I was on a mission to see if I could do something and my presence everywhere was scarce. I was called out a few times for not being on facebook much. It’s always good to be missed, but it’s a good feeling that I have some discipline and can put the ‘goofing off’ aside when I need to. I used to have to do that with my writing forum too. It always cracked me up how one had to take a break from the writing forum to get some writing done. Ironicle, no?

Onto the news…. I posted a while back about doing 2 novels at once. That didn’t really work. Once I got rolling on my second idea, I had to see it through. It was sort of a challenge sent out to me by readers of Dustin Time and I didn’t know if I could do it. I am not usually one for sequels but I have to say, I think I like the way this turned out. So here it is *drum roll please* I’m getting ready to send Dustin Time 2 – Dustin’s Turn off to Champagne Books. My editor for Dustin Time no longer works with them so I hope whoever I get (if it even gets accepted) has read the 1st one or thinks the story flows well enough not having read it. I do only what back story is necessary. You’re not lost if you haven’t read Dustin Time, but some of the fun things will make better sense if you’ve read it. Again I was amazed at how things fell into place. At times I felt like this was outlined out the entire time. (And we know I don’t do that outline thing! eep!) Wish me well! I’m hoping to hear back from my betas soon & get this puppy rolling.

When that was done, I immediately dove right back into the one I pushed aside and I’m happy to say I’ve found the missing scenes. I always say I never get writer’s block, but I had gotten to the end of this story & was only at 70K. I’m glad that once I read it through after leaving it alone for a while, I saw where it could be filled in. I’m almost done & like everyone I end, I think it’s my strongest one so far and these 1st 10 pages should get an agent asking for more. (hope hope hope…) It’s name right now is merely #11. I suppose after another read though – it’ll come to me.

Egads – I think that’s the most I’ve talked about writing. Must be time for a break. πŸ˜‰

Since I don’t have a book cover to share, here’s some pics of down the hill from our house (and my dopey mutts). This is after the water started to recede a little. Handy that I didn’t have to go all the way to the river so my dogs could swim.

Where this stop sign is – is actually a road to the county park. I ride my horse down here.

Crap (that is the technical term) washed over the road.

Things are getting better, but I took a different route home last night and was shocked at what was normally fields now looks likes lakes. Glad I didn’t hear any homes getting wiped out. Even our neighbor that has swept carp from his kitchen in the past was okay this year.

Side note – we had 70 on Tuesday and are expecting snow tomorrow. :/
Looks like I’ll get more writing done.

8 thoughts on “Novel #12

  1. Congrats on the second book. That is awesome, along with the other book.

    It seems flooding is the main issue nowadays with tornado season. I’m also glad to hear no homes were wiped out.

    Take care.

    • I’ll holler iffin I can abuse you, babe! Spanks for the offer. I should use you while the using is good…. soon you’ll be all famous & stuff & say Bug who? πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

