Neapolitan…

No… that’s ice cream. Napoleon. Yeah. That’s it.

What am I going on about now? Just another odd conversation you have when kids decide they have to eavesdrop in on adult conversations.

You’ve all met my cat George. (Gracie is too wide for the average camera lens.) Once again she hung out on the top of our fridge the weekend our friends were over. (Yes – George is a she.) They always bring their dogs along – as we do when we go to their place. (Tit for tat – their cats hang out in the basement.) It’s odd because they don’t even chase her – mine do. (Of course I say “get the kitty” and start it, but what the hey? ;)) She’s always naughty & just gets under my skin sometimes – like when she jumps on the counter. (And don’t call animal control on me. They don’t do anything when they get to her.) Her one endearing quality though, is her markings. It’s always a conversation starter.

George

A few months back, a cousin of mine posted a link. http://www.catsthatlooklikehitler.com His comment was, “Some people have too much time on their hands.” My comment. “OMG – I have to submit my cat’s picture!” I’d like to say she was Miss October, but there is a lot of competition out there!

My friend made a comment about her. “That face always cracks me up.” I replied with. “I know. My dad just calls her…” I didn’t want to finish it with the kids there coloring eggs. “Your dad calls her what?” her son asked. They have the hawk ears for anything they shouldn’t be a part of, as all kids do. I didn’t want to say “Hitler” and start a conversation about it. My friend had no problems talking about it since her youngest had just learned about the Holocaust in school. The conversation led to the Holocaust Museum in DC that we went to … that led to us finding out we will be in DC at the same time. Kinda funny. Anyway… from there the conversation drifted to mention of Napoleon. Her son promptly replied. “Dynamite?”

“Yup, him.” I wanted to just leave it at that.

“It’s funny – the conversations we can have over mimosas, egg coloring, & watching cats tremble in fear.”

“Yeah, dictators is a new one – even for us.”

A small voice peeps. “Dictators?”

“Yeah. Dick Tater. Tater Tot’s mean uncle Richard.”

Conversation avoidance – my specialty. You should hear us explain where babies come from. πŸ˜‰

Hmm… from this:

Hello Kitty
to this:
Napo
to this:
Napo2
to this:
ice cream

Almost as bad as facebook threads that go from spitting goats to boobs in 3 posts. πŸ˜‰

6 thoughts on “Neapolitan…

  1. LOL! I’m laughing at the fact you didn’t want to mention the name Hitler. You?

    It’s hilarious hearing how younger generations make connections. I remember being out at a bar and Bohemian Rhapsody started to play. Some youngin’ shouted, “Hey! Wayne’s World!” I just shook my head and laughed.

    • Gotta love movies & rock band for bringing back the great songs!!!
      Yeah… I didn’t want the whole conversation we had. That Holocaust Museum did me in. I debated this post – I didn’t want anyone to get the wrong idea of the humor in it. Odd of me to hesitate sticking my foot in my mouth, huh? πŸ˜‰

  2. Should we start calling him “He Who Must Not Be Named?” I believe Rowling crafted the Deatheaters from the Nazis. (You can add that tidbit to your conversation)

    Your cat does have a funny face… I was thinking Salvadore Dali. My aunt had a black and white cat that had a white wishbone on it’s forehead, named… wait for it….. Wishbone.

    *Snert*

    • Thanks for the lesson! Great name! I had a turtle named Fluffy πŸ™‚
      My Dalmatian is…wait for it.. Dottie. I didn’t do it. Funny though – when she & my choc lab wanted in – I said to a friend “Don’t let Dottie in – she’s muddy.” She looked at them both. “Which one is Dottie?” LMAO!

Leave a Reply

