Been gone too much lately!

I mentioned I’ve been gone a lot – I’ll attempt to fill you in a bit now that I have a moment to breathe!

The signing in Doylestown, PA in early June was great! The staff & store were amazing! It could put any Barnes & Noble to shame. The place was huge. They held a lot of events such as book clubs & you could see where they did readings for kid’s books. All hail brick & mortar book stores! They did very well that day despite the weather.

I had a few cousins show up for it & got to learn some more names. I have always been horrible with names & faces. Throw 3 at me at once & I’m useless! After signing the books – I have 3 more Tobin girls down! w00t me! I also had 2 AWers show up. One I met before & one I hadn’t (& the Mrs.). It’s so great putting another name with a face (& hearing an accent you didn’t know was there!) I sold just shy of 20 books. The store was going to leave me in the “Best Sellers” spot for a while, since I was! (For the day anyway…)

Cousins

Denise

Bookstore

A friend had a get together for me afterwards at her house for a few cousins. It was a ton of fun. Thanks, Patti K!!

The next day we headed to MD for a get together with my fearless leader of the Comedy Thread at AW. We got crabs (but they make a powder for now that so s’all good πŸ˜‰ )

Crabs!

That was followed the next day by a day in DC. Words of wisdom – wear good shoes when you do DC. A lot of walking & a great time with the family. Here’s my daughter. Monkey see – monkey do. She had to get a picture like other kids were doing at the Washington Monument.

Monument
Monument2
Yes, the dreaded feety shoes. Someone had to make the guard laugh at the art gallery.

We got back Thurs … Friday I had to head up to Bemidji for a book fair. It was a great experience, sold a few more books, & again I got to see a bunch of friends & have a blast!

Could we rest one weekend? No! We had the State convention for the Elks this past weekend, which was a great time as always. I love making new friends & seeing the different lodges. I’ll go back to Hopkins again just for the fries at the restaurant we were at. Nom nom nom…

I’d like to say we’re done with traveling for a while but as I mentioned in my last post, in July we head to AZ for the National convention. I like vacations as much as the next guy but dang! This is getting crazy. We are staying at the Arizona Biltmore – a Waldorf Astoria so I’m not complaining! 39 acres, 8 pools, wine tasting & I’m sure…48 hospitality rooms! ack! If that doesn’t kill me, I’m sure meeting 2 more writer friends will!

I won’t be planning a signing for this trip, but I’ll take a few books along – just in case. Yes. Yes, I get gabby sometimes. Why do you ask? πŸ˜‰

10 thoughts on “Been gone too much lately!

  1. You’ve been busy and it looks like you had a great time. After traveling so much, it is nice to relax at home for a while.

    Congrats on your sales, and definitely bring some books to the National Convention. You never know who might be staying there. As a matter of fact, if there is a place at the hotel where people can pick something up for free to read, I’d leave a book there. One recommendation can spread quickly. πŸ˜‰

    Have fun!

  2. Wow….the busy life of a published author! How cool is that!? I want so badly to meet more AWers…one day…Good to hear from ya! I think my mother-in-law is reading your book now or will be soon. I didn’t think about it until after I loaned it to her, but I wonder how she’ll take the sex scenes…LOL. Oh well.

    • We’ll keep you posted! Never know when the party will come your way! πŸ™‚

      Eep on the MIL. If my mom can take it – anyone can! πŸ˜‰

Leave a Reply

