New Bookie…maybe

Well…I know. It’s been forever. Again. Work and the holidays have been too busy for much else. My blog and newsletter are not the only things neglected. I honestly didn’t know when I’d write anything again.

When I’d wake up at 3 a.m. (as is the norm unfortunately) I’d think: “Hmm…I wonder what kind of trouble Hailey and the gang could get into?” Nip. Nada. Nuthin’. One day last week I finally opened up a word doc and just started typing. Silly me – I forgot that was their style. They got me going – we’ll see how far I get the free ride. 🙂

On another note, before the crazy season started, I re-read an old WIP of mine. It was one of my originals. Its original title was “Vienna Waits For You.” Vienna is my favorite Billy Joel song. It was too perfect for Marshall to sing it to Vicki thought certain parts of the book. I went as far as finding who had rights for the lyrics and seeing about obtaining permission. A very lovely letter came months later (after a 2nd request) wanting to know price of the book, sales projections, etc. Rightfully so, but I knew the lyrics would have to go. It was too much to even think of. But…but…they  were soooo PERFECT! *pout*sniff*more pout*

It was a simple romance, but one I loved with all I had. It also sits a little close to home. (Vicki gets pregnant at 18. Where did I come with that one? Oh, and it’s on Maui…in the 80’s. It was amazing helping characters through the days of no cell phones!) Vicki was a pain in my ass but I loved how Marshall loved her. My writing had taken a turn for more suspense and I just kinda let this one sit.

I won’t admit the level of moron I had reached as far as reading some of Amazon’s terms. Let’s just say one link led to another and I found myself looking into their Kindle Scout program. I never got into this biz to self pub. I’ve had publishers, but now this is the road I’m on. Although I will never query again, I thought I’d give this a shot.

If you aren’t familiar with the program: Kindle Scout is reader-powered publishing for new, never-before-published books. It’s a place where readers help decide if a book receives a publishing contract.” Right now, for me, this is perfect. I didn’t want to put my usual team though another read. Two of them read it early on but it has really changed over the years the few times I read through it, deciding how to best “blow the dust off.” Holy smokes…I wrote it in 2011! This was a great opportunity for me to get an honest, “sure, it was a good story,” or “nah, stick to your Hailey series. Your 18 year old was too needy.” 😉

Anyway, I entered it & it was accepted for a campaign. Here’s the link if you’re interested I seeing it or adding your “yeah or nay” the submission. https://kindlescout.amazon.com/p/QIVAL8R78AMV

I loved that they had a “new adult & college” category since I wasn’t quite sure where to place it.

If accepted, it will be the 1st time I’ve received an advance – kinda exciting to think about. I don’t know what the odds are but what the hey…it’s only been sitting on my laptop for 6 years. What’ll it hurt?

I’ll keep you posted.

Happy Reading,

Bug

 

Leave a Reply

